Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility


Nov 29, 2023

Former college first lady leaves Converse University a record $10.3M

A former “first lady” of Converse University has left an estate gift of $10.3 million to the Spartanburg school — the largest planned gift in Converse history and its second-largest gift of any kind.

Nov 29, 2023

Meyer Center taps Monica Gibson for director of development role

Greenville, SC – The Meyer Center for Special Children is pleased to welcome Monica Gibson as director of development. With extensive experience in fund development, strategic management, relationship building and operational oversight, Gibson’s background is a natural fit for the organization and will help propel the Me[...]

Nov 29, 2023

CBL State Savings Bank Charitable Foundation Supports the African American Male Scholars Initiative at Greenville Technical College

CBL State Savings Bank Charitable Foundation recently awarded $2,500 to support the African American Male Scholars Initiative (AAMSI) at Greenville Technical College. This donation will go a long way in supporting the AAMSI’s mission to empower African-American male students in achieving their educational and career goals.[...]

Nov 27, 2023

Converse Celebrates the Legacy and Philanthropy of Ernestine Raclin

Spartanburg, SC: Lifelong supporter of higher education and former Converse first lady Ernestine Melvin Morris Carmichael Raclin (1927-2023) further cemented her legacy at Converse with a generous estate gift of $10.3 million. This planned gift is the largest legacy gift and the second largest single gift in Converse’s history[...]

Nov 21, 2023

Converse University Announces New Director of Alumni Relations

Spartanburg, SC – Inspired by her professional poise and passion for education, Converse University announced that Dr. Andrea Weatherman Kikkert, member of the Class of 2005, will serve as the new director of alumni relations. She will begin her duties remotely on January 15 before joining the Institutional Advancement sta[...]

Nov 14, 2023

ECPI University Nabs Top Spot in “2023 Best for Vets: Colleges”

Virginia Beach, VA – ECPI University is pleased to announce its inclusion in the Military Times 2023 Best for Vets lists released on November 6, 2023. In Best for Vets: Colleges, ECPI University ranked first in the Career and Technical Education category, placing 21st overall out of 325 colleges and universities. Additionally,[...]

Nov 13, 2023

Converse University Recognized As Finalist for InnoVision Education Award

Spartanburg, SC: On Thursday, November 9, Converse University was named a finalist for the InnoVision Education Award during a ceremony held at the historic 1208 Washington Place in downtown Columbia, South Carolina. This award recognizes innovative approaches to education in South Carolina that create new educational opportunit[...]

Sep 25, 2023

Anderson, Pendleton colleges adopt new transfer program

Tri-County Technical College and Anderson University signed an articulation agreement Sept. 19, outlining a new transfer program to support students who are looking to advance their education in business and other areas.

Aug 21, 2023

Spartanburg Community College expands nurse education

Spartanburg Community College is increasing its capacity to bring more nurses into the workforce.

Aug 11, 2023

Grant of $100,000 helps USC Upstate cover tuition for Spartanburg teachers

A $100,000 grant will help the University of South Carolina Upstate cover tuition for eight aspiring teachers that will work for Spartanburg School District 2.

Jul 26, 2023

How the University of South Carolina is preparing its future workforce for success

As preparing for the future workforce entails more technology such as digital transformation and artificial intelligence, an important question is: what is going to happen to the number of jobs?

Jul 12, 2023

Clemson chemistry professor awarded for work in quantum tech

An assistant professor of chemistry at Clemson University, has received a prestigious 2023 Beckman Young Investigators Award from the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation to support her research in quantum technology.