SC Biz News


Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters

Spartanburg spotlights city supporters

  • Staff Report
Print Story
  • Share

The Spartanburg Area Chamber of Commerce used its annual meeting this week to shine a spotlight on the people and businesses working to move Spartanburg forward. The ceremony was presented by Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System.

“Spartanburg in 2018 is much different than it was five years ago, but the roots of today’s successes were planted years ago,” said Allen Smith, president and CEO of the Spartanburg Chamber, in a news release. “Spartanburg County is now home to more business and community growth than ever before, and record numbers of visitors come into the county for a host of reasons.”

The following awards were presented during the chamber’s annual meeting:

  • Ambassador of the Year: Maddi Currier, development associate at the Hope Center for Children
  • Young Professional of the Year: Landon Cohen, president of Light Transportation Co.
  • 2017 Teachers of the Year: District 1, Joshua Fowler; District 2, Keri Belue; District 3, Kimberly Goode; District 4, Emily Montjoy; District 5, Laura Brockman; District 6, Janelle Courtney Dial; District 7, Vern Weygandt; Spartanburg Day School, Kim Ballenger; S.C. School for Deaf and Blind, John Preston Lewis
  • Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award: Newt Hardie, founder of The Trees Coalition, was posthumously named the award winner for his work to fight kudzu across Spartanburg County.
  • Economic Futures Award: Auriga Polymers Inc. received the award for its 50 years of innovation in Spartanburg.
  • Elaine Harris Tourism Person of the Year: Patti Wetherford was posthumously named the award winner for her contributions to the tourism industry.
  • The James B. Thompson Small Business of the Year Award: Atlas Organics
  • Inclusion Advocate of the Year: Natasha Pitts, minority business development coordinator with the city of Spartanburg.
  • Minority Business Person of the Year: Charles Atchison, owner and founder of Atchison Transportation
  • The Chairman’s Award: Spartanburg Mayor Junie White and Spartanburg County Council Chairman Jeff Horton
  • Neville Holcombe Distinguished Citizenship Award:  U.S. Rep. Trey Gowdy

  • Share
Write a Comment